I opened my eyes to see total darkness. I looked left and right in hopes of finding a small glimpse of light, but nothing. I got up and walked for a while but it felt as if I was not even moving. I got nowhere. I started shouting for help. I thought that maybe my voice was too low so I shouted even louder and louder until I lost my voice. I started crying and trying to accept the fact that no one was coming to help; I was going to spend the rest of my life in this cold dark place. Suddenly, I thought I saw something moving; a hand maybe. I reached for it but it didn’t take my hand. Instead, it seemed like it grabbed something veil-like and started moving it revealing a light so bright that it forced me to close my eyes. When I opened them, I was back in my room, staring at my purple ceiling.

In response to daily prompt: Darkness.

